HOME Korean BuddhismBuddhist Tenets

Buddhist Tenets

Twelve Links of Dependent Arising (12연기)

Pages Information

Writer Jogye Date17 Aug 2015 Read8,079 Comment0


The Twelve Links of Dependent Arising (paticca-samuppada)

All beings come into being or cease to be based on the causes and conditions which brought them into existence. In other words, they arise or cease only through interdependent relationships. This is the principle of dependent arising. Things exist as they are because of the phenomenon of causation. Nothing exists on its own independent of anything else. Dependent arising clarifies phenomenal existence and its formation. Because twelve phases interact with each other in the process of causation, Buddhists call them the “twelve links of dependent arising.”

   Ignorance (avijja): A fundamental delusion which does not know the truth, including the Four Noble Truths.
   Mental formations (sankhara): Intentional actions due to ignorance; from this comes the karma we create.
Consciousness (vinnana): The six consciousnesses which are: visual, auditory, olfactory, taste, tactile and conceptual consciousnesses.
   Name and form (nama-rupa): “Name” refers to mind which has name but no form while “form” refers to the material and physical which have form.
   The six sensory gates (salayatana): The eyes, ears, nose, tongue, skin and mind.
   Contact (phassa): This arises when there is interaction between the six sense organs, the objects they perceive and the six consciousnesses.
   Feeling (vedana): There are three types of feeling: pleasant, painful and neutral which is neither pleasant nor painful.  
   Craving (tanha): Drives, longings and cravings that seek to satisfy desires.
   Clinging (upadana): Grasping or attachment when one wants something for their own.
   Becoming (bhava): The karmic consciousness of sentient beings which repeats the cycle of birth and death in samsara.
   Birth (jati): The entrance of a sentient being into the realm of sentient beings.
   Ageing and death (jara-marana): Birth, sickness, ageing and death represent the suffering of sentient beings.

- excerpt from Buddhist English (Elementary 2) published in 2014 by the Jogye Order of Korean Buddhism

Comment List

No comments.

Buddhist Tenets List

Total 33. 1 page
Buddhist Tenets List
No Subject / Topic Writer Date Read
33 Mirror of Seon (선가귀감) 인기글 Jogye 17 Aug 2015 8,945
32 Song of Enlightenment (증도가) 인기글 Jogye 17 Aug 2015 9,233
31 Verses on the Mind of Faith (신심명) 인기글 Jogye 17 Aug 2015 7,957
30 Diamond Sutra (금강경) 인기글 Jogye 17 Aug 2015 11,406
29 Heart Sutra(반야심경) 인기글 Jogye 17 Aug 2015 11,189
28 Four Immeasurable Minds (사무량심) 인기글 Jogye 17 Aug 2015 8,195
>> Twelve Links of Dependent Arising (12연기) 인기글 Jogye 17 Aug 2015 8,080
26 Noble Eightfold Path (팔정도) 인기글 Jogye 17 Aug 2015 8,884
25 Four Noble Truths (사성제) 인기글 Jogye 17 Aug 2015 8,569
24 Non-Self (무아) 인기글 Jogye 17 Aug 2015 7,872
23 Suffering (고) 인기글 Jogye 17 Aug 2015 8,003
22 Impermanence (무상) 인기글 Jogye 17 Aug 2015 8,207
21 Five Aggregates (오온) 인기글 Jogye 17 Aug 2015 9,828
20 Mahayana Buddhism (대승불교) 인기글 Jogye 17 Aug 2015 9,538
19 Theravada Buddhism (상좌부불교) 인기글 Jogye 17 Aug 2015 9,455
1 2 3
컨텐츠 상단으로 이동