HOME Korean BuddhismKorean Buddhist Cultural Heritage

Korean Buddhist Cultural Heritage

Main Buddha Hall (대웅전)

Pages Information

Writer Jogye Date23 Jul 2015 Read8,893 Comment0


The Main Buddha Hall (Daeung-jeon)



The Main Buddha Hall enshrines Sakyamuni Buddha as the principal buddha. As the central building of the temple, most of the important Dharma gatherings take place in this hall. Its name "Daeung-jeon" means "the hall that enshrines the hero who illuminates the world with his spiritual power."

Inside the Buddha Hall, Sakyamuni Buddha is flanked by the Samantabhadra Bodhisattva (Bohyeon Bosal) and the Manjusri Bodhisattva (Munsu Bosal); or by Ven. Kasyapa and Ven. Ananda. Sometimes the "Buddhas of the three times" (past, present and future) or the "three bodies of the Buddha" are enshrined as attendant buddhas. The Buddhas of the three times are: Sakyamuni Buddha of the present, Dipankara Buddha of the past, and Maitreya Buddha of the future. The Buddhas of the three bodies are the Dharmakaya Buddha, Sambhogakaya Buddha, and Nirmanakaya Buddha. 

- excerpt from Buddhist English (Elementary 1) published in 2014 by the Jogye Order of Korean Buddhism

Comment List

No comments.

컨텐츠 상단으로 이동